Pip Pip Cheerio, I’m London Bound

So I can now officially let you in on my secret – I’m London bound for the summer!!

It’s exciting, nerve wracking, mysterious, and everything else in between. At moments, I honestly don’t know what to think. My anxious self gets all in a spin and I start thinking about my future, my present, what’s right, what’s wrong. When my mind starts going in that direction though, I tell it to shut up!

Trust me, it’s needed. I can literally drive myself crazy thinking about what if’s. But you know what, life is a giant what if (at least that’s what I’ve come to accept). I can never really know what’s to come and all I can do is move forward with what I think is right. London feels right.

How am I able to go to London for three months you may ask (yes, it’s a little over three months)? Do I have a trust fund (pfft!)? Are my parents financing me (NOT A CHANCE IN HELL)? Did I get a job offer (not yet, haha)?

A lot of saving, the fortune of having family in the city of London and a desire to pursue a dream are the answers.

Living in London and studying/working in film is something I’ve ALWAYS wanted to do. Those feelings have never gone away for as long as I can remember. Instead, they’ve only lingered in the back of my mind, somehow finding its way to the surface every so often.

london

My third time in London circa 2014

After hitting 2016 and maybe having a crisis or two, I realized I couldn’t deny my travel itch anymore. I needed to be in Europe and I had to find a way to do it productively. I started researching programs, pulling together a budget spreadsheet and looking into other places to travel. At the end of all this and many sessions with my journal (so therapeutic for the racing mind), my mind was firm.

Bringing it back to the top, I can’t be scared of the unknown. Everything is technically unknown, even the things you feel are most secure. That’s what great and terrifying about life. I couldn’t let my fear of failure or the uncertainty stop me from trying, so I committed and I’ll be in London beginning this June. Ready to share travel tales, insights, and awesome recommendations (even though I’m on a budget, I’m exploring), you need to follow my blog to see what I run into!

What am I doing? I’m going to be studying film making and production, traveling in Europe, and meeting awesome people (eating pastries is also part of the plan). I’m really excited at the prospect of so much to be discovered and to do. I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself for this trip to be super freaking awesome but I hope it will be. I know whatever happens, it’ll be amazing and good for me as a person.

Well, I have plenty more items to share with you as well as chronicles so stay tuned! London baby!! Stories are waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

