Traveling To London Part 1

It’s been one day since I’ve arrived in London. Away from the things that are so familiar and routine for me. I feel so excited but now the nerves are coming on full force. My luggage is packed, I’ve spent a week saying goodbye, checked off all the items from my list, and savored my time in NYC.

Although I’ve never been super sentimental, I’ve made an effort to really enjoy everything about my hometown and appreciate it. I am trying to keep the “I Miss You” feelings away now that I’m in Europe. I’m not trying to be a robot but I want to give this the fullest shot I can – this means keeping my head straight ahead (so to speak). But first, let me tell you about my road to get here (London)

Cut to me trying to look cool but fumbling with my luggage at JFK.

IMG_2162.jpg

I tried my best to under pack, only bringing the essentials but how is that possible when you’re packing for three months and need to factor in haircare! Low and behold, my fears of being overweight at the airline check in were confirmed when the woman told me that I was 20 lbs over. What that meant was I’d have to pay $15 per extra pound which would amount to about $200. I WASN’T having it. And incase this isn’t stressed enough, please please always weigh your luggage before a flight. It will literally save you the heartache and the pocket shock when you arrive at the airport to have your fears confirmed.

Any who, I’m in a panic about my luggage and the prospect of paying $200. It wasn’t like I had any options (or so I thought) until the sweet bag check lady told me about option 3. I could check a 3rd bag for only $65 and she would just let me on with my overweight baggage. The only problem there was I didn’t have a third suitcase. Again, if you know your bags are overweight, research the airline extra baggage policy. Save you from sweating through your travel outfit. BUT, I did have my backpack so I was able to get away with checking that as my third bag. That woman was literally a godsend.

After that, I zoomed through TSA check in and then looked for my gate.

IMG_2147.jpg

Two phone calls and some ritz crackers later, my flight was called for boarding. I was about to get on a plane to better my future with no idea how. The great unknown – how freaking terrifying and exhilarating.

Post To Be Continued

One thought on “Traveling To London Part 1

  1. J E N N I F E R says:

    Hey Alicia!

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

