Solving For Boy

I’m not Taylor Swift but I felt like writing about boys.

The fact that they are so mysterious, stupid and simple all at once.

I’m not trying to be mean but that’s how I find them. All that and frustrating. It’s a wonder so many intelligent girls/women I know decide to put up with all the shenanigans. But then it’s not a wonder. Not to me.

I was raised on rom-coms and happily ever after, and although the world seems like a grim place right now (Trump, wars, economic stinkiness), I still believe that something genuinely amazing and awesome can happen if you believe and try to be the best person you can. Love is one of those things that I hope/think will happen for everyone. But I’m not talking about love, I’m talking about solving for idiots called boys.

People say that guys say what they mean and there isn’t much to read in-between. If a guy asks for your number, apparently all they want is your number. That doesn’t mean you should expect them to actually be interested in you or spend anytime with you. How dare you jump to such an awful conclusion! They just want the ability to call, anything else you dream up and think is your fault. I know when I ask for a person’s number, it’s so I can decide later on if I actually want to hang out with them. Never can have too many numbers on your phone. *sarcasm*

I mean, I do know girls are confusing too and can be psycho or dramatic but boys man, they’re just baffling.

Some guys who are baffling are actually nice though.

I believe deep down that they are genuinely nice people who just happen to also have conflicting intentions of being a “guy” (guy according to me – a male who is driven by sex, thoughts of nothing, hanging with their boys, and obsessed with some dumb sport and/or hobby). They try their best to be nice along the way to any girl that may peak their Mr.Willy Wonka by being a decent human (you know, not just grabbing at you immediately and taking the time to remember your name and a few facts about you) but they are still trying to satisfy a need on their time.

I guess the fact that a guy can be decent while still satiating their needs is confusing to me and all other girls. I feel like smart girls are naively suffering from deer in headlights syndrome whenever a guy is decent because let’s face it, today’s world feels full of game players and absolute creeps.

Me, I prefer a guy be outright and honest with me. If I know what I’m getting into, I’m less likely to drive myself insane trying to figure “it all out.” I’ll know that you just want a casual thing or that you want to be friends or that you want to be serious. I get it though, you don’t always know your true intentions at the beginning but once you do, why do you always work so hard to try to act like you don’t? There’s no need to pretend to be Mr.Nice Guy. Just do you and I’ll understand.

When life is already confusing enough in regards to career and finding yourself, do you really have to solve for boy too? I’d rather not but then maybe that’s the road you must travel down for life. I just hope solving for girl is as hard or harder. haha

Leave a Reply

