Mallorca Spain

It’s been a couple of months but I went to Mallorca this summer as part of my European getaway. I’m currently daydreaming of my time there as I’m coming off a week back in America.

Shell shocked and immediately plotting my way back, I decided to reminisce on that summer sun in Spain.

I stayed at the HM Bangulera and despite the friendly staff and delicious complimentary breakfast, I caution you not to stay there. After my fun trip, I arrived home to find that some unsavory bug creatures followed me back. Could it have been the airport? Yes. But I have a feeling it was the hotel. Onwards and upwards though.

So Mallorca was hot, like so hot my skin itched. I had been there for maybe a few hours, walking through city center, and that sun was intense.

img_3032

Feeling like melted chocolate

But it was great! Although I have much love for England, the weather is not perfect even during the summer.

I walked for about three hours throughout the city of Palma, getting a lay of the land. I saw the Palma Cathedral, some original gothic architecture then made my way to the port for a seafood dinner.

My favorite part about the dinner was the sangria. I had a seafood paella but it didn’t quite hit the spot. It was nice but not the dinner of my dreams.

The next day, I made my way to the beach.

img_3086

Playa de Palma was pretty amazing. The sun was high, giving off its radiant heat and the beach itself was beautiful. Touristy but beautiful. It had been a bit of time since my trip to Malta so seeing the crystal blue waters and feeling the sand between my toes was nice.

It was a shock to see some nudes on the beach. Both adults and children were walking without tops or bottoms – I wasn’t prepared but there also weren’t a ton people. I could deal.

Even while on the beach on my own, I was able to find a nice spot to bathe in the sea. Had I gotten to the beach earlier, I could have went on one of those snorkling or boating excursions. These activities do sell out for the day pretty quickly so I recommend booking in advance or getting there really early.

img_3052

After a bit, I started feeling sun stroke. I was so tired and I wanted to sleep. I could have tried to do that on the beach but I was alone so I figured that wouldn’t be smart (I didn’t want anything stolen). I made my way to the bus back to Palma where I grabbed a bit of KFC for lunch.

The last couple of days there, I went to the Haagen Das store, had gelato, did a bit of window shopping and walked the streets of Palma.

It was a lovely time and it wasn’t too expensive – recommend going but don’t stay at the HM Bangulera.

Leave a Reply

