Big City, Loads of Noises

Sirens again. Honking again. Screaming imbeciles again. That’s what I hear.

img_3368-1

It’s been three weeks since I’ve been back in NYC after spending 5 months away. Although I studied abroad and spent nearly the same amount of time away in Paris during my Junior year of college, this past experience feels so different.

Back then, when I had been a foreign country studying another language and truly living on my own for the first time, I was shocked. I was unprepared and didn’t really know what I had. This time while in London, my outlook was different. I loved nearly every minute of it. There were some lows, don’t get me wrong, but I truly saw another part of life and happiness. Even though I was spending my savings and putting myself through an endless test – joy ran through my veins. I was constantly going out to events, networking mixers, emailing companies and trying to do and learn as much as I could. Every day was a new challenge. I walked the city and discovered new restaurants and bakeries of course.

Now being back in NYC, I feel odd. I enjoy seeing old friends and family members I hadn’t seen in awhile but I do feel like I’m in a haze. I don’t want to lose all of the amazing things I learned and did while in London. I loved what I accomplished. I’d hate to let it go by being back “home” and falling back to the normal I wanted so badly to escape. Well, I guess not escape – I wanted to learn and feel a level of happiness I wasn’t quite getting. I found it in London and I don’t want to let go. In my heart though, I know I can’t lose it, unless I choose to.

I think that what I learned the most about London was not to be afraid of taking chances, putting my effort into something and asking for real results, doing me without too much hesitation, etc. It really informed my way of thinking and interacting with people. I already knew I gave too many s**ts about what people think and London helped me shake that a bit.

When I look around me, I see so many tall buildings. It’s pretty in a NYC way but the romanticism I felt in London isn’t here with me right now. Maybe I still need to get used to everything? But I don’t want to. I want to do what I want to and feel the same level of joy. I know I can still continue to push forward with the dreams that I was living in London. I also plan on going back. If there is something I know I haven’t lost, it’s my will. I don’t like to give up and I know the things that I’m after now are very possible! One step at a time. Nothing worth having is supposed to be THAT easy. It’s what they say, ain’t it?

4 thoughts on “Big City, Loads of Noises

  1. JSM says:

    It’s interesting reading your update after having lived abroad and returning home. I’m from NYC as well and I’m definitely not looking forward to the adjustment period I’m sure I will have. But perhaps the move back will make everything clearer for me like it has for you. Even though you’re back in the city, it’s great the things you learned about yourself while you were abroad and that will inspire how you move forward.

    Like

    • aliciacbarnes says:

      It really has helped to reaffirm some things for me. Knowing what I did and what I was capable of so far from home has only made life in NYC a bit clearer. It definitely has helped to refocus me and also given me new tools for just dealing with people in everyday life.lol I’m sure the same will happen for you. I didn’t quite grasp the change after my trip abroad to Paris the first time but this last trip really hit me. Perhaps because of the quarter life crisis that happened before I made my London adventure a reality!

      Like

Leave a Reply

