2016, You Were Interesting

Seven days into 2017. WOW. I can’t believe it. I feel like time is flying already but I’m so excited about what’s to come this year. I have high hopes (and a list), much like how my 2016 started, and no real doubt as to why my hopes can’t mostly come true.

Right now, I’m currently nursing a weak stomach. I’ve either had food poisoning or some sort of stomach bug. This doesn’t make me happy as last night was quite awful and I’ve already had a small bug toward the end of 2016. But oh well, better to get these small things done and out of the way so 2017 can carry on the way I want. lol

2016 was crazy. I loved it though, despite the US election, Brexit, shootings and other awful world happenings. I mean, it didn’t seem like a good year for the world but in actuality, there’s always something not so bright and shiny going on. If I Wikipedia 2015, I’d bet that I could come back with a list of awful things that happened to America and the rest of the world. But like I was saying, I loved 2016.

It was the year I took more risks and put myself out there. I tested myself and pursued some passions come to find that it wasn’t the end of the world. Things I did in 2016 include (in no particular order):

  • Move to London for 5 months
  • Travel around Europe
  • Did a short film program
  • Interned at a few production companies
  • Went on more dates/found a great boyfriend
  • Started my blog
  • Got a tattoo
  • Met new people
  • Worked on film projects

The list isn’t too meaty but within each bullet is a chapter of stories I can reflect on. So much happened to me within each item that developed me as a person. Do I know everything about life and where I’ll be? No way! But I feel more assured about what I’m doing and taking the risks to get to a new path in life.

Living in London was a crazy experience in itself. Nothing was what I expected but I also didn’t go into my experience with mega expectations. I think that was a huge help! Not that you shouldn’t have expectations but I didn’t put too much pressure on myself to make things happen which I often do. I took things in stride and learned from each hiccup, success, and mini moments of embarrassment or failure.

I learned that I’m stronger than I thought, friendlier than thought, braver than thought and just as susceptible to stupid moments. I cried hard in 2016 and explored hard in 2016. Couldn’t do any better I say. I went to Amsterdam, Malta, Manchester, Mallorca, Cornwall and Tenerife (blogs for this coming up). Again, loved every minute of it!

There were no regrets in 2016, mostly. I’m not adverse to making a mistake but even with mistakes, I like to think I learned how to recognize them more and handle situations differently.

2017 – there are so many things on the books for you. So many plans! I feel I keep dropping hints and saying things but that’s mainly for myself. The more I make it public, the more I hold myself to it. That’s what I did in 2016 and I think it was a pretty smart tactic (helped me get that extra push to book my flight to London). I don’t want to be held back by fear or society, I just want to go for it. And I am. Stay tuned for more guys. As I said, I plan on staying on here for a bit (or maybe I didn’t say but I’m saying now!), developing my blog and keeping you posted on the latest. You’ll probably know what’s going on with me before my family does! haha

Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 11.36.09 PM.png

Leave a Reply

