Tenerife – A Canary Island Story #2

So, still in Tenerife. Still loving it. Now we hit the next day where we were off to visit El Tiede.

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-12-39-20-am

Volcano Tiede is the third largest volcano in the world. We took a nice long drive through the national park, taking in out of this world views, overlooking vistas and chowing on pastries that were literally the size of our heads. The ride up was amazing!

We did suffer from ear popping (because of the changing altitudes) but we had good conversations about life and silly things while feeling the warmth of the sun from inside the car.

When we arrived at the volcano, we took a cable car to the top which was covered in snow!

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-12-39-41-am

We were dressed for summer but luckily enough brought some warmer gear with us so we wouldn’t freeze our butts off. We threw on everything we had so hopefully that explains why I had a dress on in the snow.

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-12-39-58-am

I think we spent about an hour on top of the volcano, hiking about the paths and trying not to fall. I mean I was. Although there was a path, it was very slippery and my sneakers didn’t have a ton of grip so I was desperately trying not to go off the side of the cliff. I must admit I was chicken to hike up any further but the old boyfriend was egging me on to keep going.

We then came back down the mountain and warmed up before navigating out of a tight parking spot to make our way back to the Airbnb.

During our ride, I made us have an impromptu picnic in the car, overlooking El Tiede. We were both hungry and we had the sandwich supplies in the boot of the car so I figured why not. Our next destination was an hour away and usually, I always forget to feed myself properly on holiday. Somehow, that always escapes me. Eating. I get snacks but those real meals man, so hard to remember!lol

Later we made our way to El Medano to see the end of the sunrise and to chat about life as we walked along one of the volcanic beaches.

After that stretch of the legs. We were hungry again – time for dinner! We went to a spot that looked like a home restaurant. They don’t have menus, you just get what they serve you and it’s all really cheap! We had cheese and bread, slated potatoes, bacalao and garbanzo beans. It was an interesting meal for sure but definitely tasty and dirt cheap – 12 euros for two people!

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-3-50-48-pm

After that, we called it a day and rested up for another day of fun.

 

Leave a Reply

