Windy Walks and Cliffs in Cornwall

I didn’t imagine myself in Cornwall ever – never ever. I guess that’s strange since I went to Manchester and many people would say they’d never see themselves there. But boy, I’m so glad I went to Cornwall, in October even!
img_3312
First off, Cornwall is beautiful. There are plenty of walking paths near the coast, beaches, mini hikes, rural animals and farms, and more. It’s so quaint (but sometimes too quaint with shops closing at 9 PM and refusing to serve you food since their kitchens are closed) and the atmosphere is relaxed beyond belief.
I went there on a quick getaway with a friend. We stayed in the cutest little Chalet (hidden behind a slightly scary and narrow road) that had everything you could ask for (maps of the area, TV, wifi, mini kitchen, homemade cake and honey, etc). It was warm, peaceful and picturesque.
As soon as we got in, we made our way to one of the only open eateries near us – a fish & chips spot in Hayle. I ordered cod with some cheesy chips (fries) and my friend had the fish cake and traditional chips. Both were absolutely delicious. The portions were huge, the food was fresh (since we were so close to the sea) and the meal was cheap. Great first intro to Cornwall.
Next up, windy hikes in Porthleven and Porthcurno.
We stopped in Porthleven where we each picked up a breakfast pastry and warm drink. Again, delicious. We then walked along the harbor where we eventually started skipping, climbing and throwing rocks. I wasn’t ready immediately, I had my Michael Kors handbag in one hand and a pastry in the other but I had to roll up my sleeves and get one with nature. I wanted to enjoy all that fresh air and just sit.
After a bit of that, we were off to Porthcurno where we hiked along the coastal path. We saw “wild ponies”, sheep, castle sites, sea side views and even trekked along a small fishing village. It was a very windy day however,making it difficult to hike as there was great potential for the wind to pick you up and throw you off the cliff! We survived but there were a few close encounters.
The next few days, we took it easy, eating the Cornish delicacy called the pasty from Philps and just going on casual strolls and car rides around Cornwall.
We then took a trip down to Tintagel to see some Dark Ages ruins as well as King Arthur’s castle. It was really nice and the views were again, freaking awesome. We also had an amazing seafood meal at the Seafood Cafe in St Ives but nearly killed ourselves eating. Although the portions weren’t huge, I felt like I was going to explode after sharing a starter, then eating my meal with a glass of wine and some dessert.
I loved Cornwall! Especially the last day where we walked all over Hayle beach and got another Cornish pasty for the road. Fun times!
img_3310
Leave a Reply

