Impulse Control, See Ya Never

Sometimes you make life harder than it needs to be.

I might just be talking to myself. Actually, not might, I am. But I’m also talking to anyone else that feels confused or anxious.

Life is hard. It’s just a fact. But I sometimes think life is made harder by overthinking what you want vs what makes sense. Well, it’s only hard for those of us who have been trained to check your impulses and follow the “rules.”

Most days I want to say F*** rules. Not because I’m rebellious or seeking a way to defy but because life isn’t clear cut and you have to do a few stupid things to really learn and even succeed.

I think people that know me don’t think I screw up or make impulsive decisions. I do! Maybe not as much as the carefree friend you know that jumps off buildings or just sleeps around (two different types of impulses haha) but I am up for taking chances – I just get nervous.

It’s hard putting yourself out there in whatever way  you choose (romantic, professional, friendship, etc). There are so many hurdles you’re trying to jump and just when you’ve cleared five back to back, a wild one appears out of nowhere to make you hit the pavement face first. Anyone would be scared of this, cause it hurts!! But sometimes these falls need to happen. You need to get hurt and see a little blood. Not so much to ground you but to help you learn how to better anticipate and live your life.

I mean, I don’t like feeling dumb. No one does. But I think it is necessary. I’ll keep dreading those moments but at the end of the day, I probably needed to give into an impulse or two and be dumb. I need to let life just happen and go for it without thinking too much about hurdles my peers or even parents have tripped over and linger in my mind.

Their hurdles are their hurdles, not mine. Just because they fell over them doesn’t mean I will. But that doesn’t mean I have the right to be completely stupid and do everything and more of what others did because “that just can’t happen to me.” You’re just lying to yourself if you think otherwise.

Back to my point though, impulses. It’s important to give into sometimes. I don’t want think back on things I’d wish were accomplished or at least attempted. You need some reckless in your life and at the end of the day, I think my life would be better lived if I gave less f***s and just did and said what I wanted (within reason, haha).

 

Leave a Reply

